Hukmdev Narayan Yadav

Hukmdev Narayan Yadav

Constituency: Madhubani

Party: Bharatiya Janata Party

Father's Name: Late Shri Rajgir Yadav

Mother's Name: Late Smt. Champa Devi

Date of Birth: Friday, November 17, 1939

Birth Place: Bijuli, Distt. Darbhanga (Bihar)

Spouse Name: Smt. Sudesh Yadav



State Name: Bihar

Permanent Address: Vill. & P.O. Bijuli,Distt. Darbhanga, Bihar-847115Tel : (06272) 245094, 09013180264, 09431220044 (M)

Present Address: 4, Dr. B.D. Marg,New Delhi - 110 001Tel : (011) 23753885, 9013180264, 9810031003 (M)

Email Id: hukum[at]sansad[dot]nic[dot]in

Education Qualifications: Graduate (Political Science and Economics) Educated at Chandradhari Mahavidyalaya, Darbhanga, Bihar University, Muzaffarpur

Countries Visited: Belgium, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Netherlands, Nepal, Sweden, Switzerland

Positions Held: 1960-68 Gram Pradhan, Bijuli Panchayat (two terms)
1965-67 President, Prakhand Panchayat Samiti, Darbhanga
1967-74 Member, Bihar Legislative Assembly (Three terms)
Chief Whip, Sanyukt Socialist Party (SANSOPA), Bihar Legislative Assembly
Member, Public Accounts Committee, Rules Committee and Committee on Petitions
1971 President, Zila Parishad (District Board)
1972 President, Sanyukt Socialist Party (SANSOPA), Darbhanga
1974-77 General Secretary, Bhartiya Lok Dal, Bihar
1977-79 Elected to 6th Lok Sabha
Secretary, Parliamentary Committee, Bihar
General Secretary, Janata Party, Bihar
1980 Elected to Rajya Sabha
1980-86 Chief Whip, Lok Dal, Rajya Sabha
President, Election Committee, Lok Dal, Bihar
1982-84 Deputy Leader, Rajya Sabha
1983 National General Secretary, Janata Party
1983-84 Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
1984-86 Deputy Leader, Lok Dal, Rajya Sabha
1985-86 Member, Committee on Official Language
1985-89 President, Janata Party, Bihar
1989 Re-elected to 9th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1989-90 Member, Business Advisory Committee
1990 Member, Committee on Public Undertakings, Consultative Committee & Ministry of Finance
Deputy leader, Janata Dal, Lok Sabha
1990-91 Union Cabinet Minister, Textiles and Food Processing Industries
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
13 Oct. 1999-26 May 2000 Union Minister of State, Agriculture
27 May 2000- 6 Nov. 2000 Union Minister of State, Surface Transport
7 Nov. 2000- 1 Nov. 2001 Union Minister of State, Shipping
2 Nov. 2001 Union Minister of State, Agriculture
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (4th term)
31 Aug. 2009 Member, Standing Committee on Agriculture
23 Sep. 2009 Member, Committee on Government Assurances
Member,Committee on Official Language
Member, Consultative Committe, Urban Development
3 May 2013 Member, Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBCs)
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (5th term)
9 June 2014 onwards Member, Panel of Chairpersons, Lok Sabha
1 Sep. 2014 onwards Chairperson, Standing Committee on Agriculture
Convenor, Third Sub-Committee of the Parliamentary Committee on Official Language
Member, Advisory Committee, Ministry of Rural Development
29 Jan. 2015 onwards Member, General Purposes Committee

OTHER INFO: His father was a freedom fighter. He was Minister of two Departments during the tenure of Shri Chandershekhars Government in 1990-91; was holding the portfolio of State Minister of four Departments during the Government of Shri Vajpayee Ji in 1999-2004; State President of Janata Party from 1985-1989; President of State Parliamentary Committee of Lok Dal; Secretary, Pindaruchh High School; Founder and Secretary, Lohia Charan Singh College, Darbhanga, Bihar; Attended R.S.S Sakha from 1950-1960 regularly; Joined Bharatiya Janata Party, 1993; Pindaruchh, President, Rashtriya Kisan Morcha, BJP, (two terms); Vice President, Bhartiya Janata Party, Bihar Resigned on 7<sup>th</sup> April, 1974 as a Member of the Bihar Legislative Assembly and actively participated in Jai Prakash Movement. Imprisoned for 20 months under M.I.S.A.